569 Division St. Suite 320
Port Orchard, WA 98366
Looking for a DUI lawyer in Kitsap County? Our lawyers KNOW DUI law. We help drivers get back on the road after a Driving Under the Influence or Physical Control arrest.
Driving under the influence penalties in Washington are some of the toughest in the nation. Even a first time Driving Under the Influence or Physical Control conviction carries mandatory jail time, over a thousand dollars in fines and court costs, five years of probation and court-supervised alcohol treatment. If convicted, you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your car for at least a year, and may be restricted to your home for a period of time with a GPS tracking and alcohol monitoring device. Everyone accused of DUI is subject to losing their license for at least 90 days, and must carry expensive high risk insurance for three years. If you have been convicted or deferred a DUI in the past, a second similar charge carries at least a month in jail.
In Washington, the Department of Licensing takes action to suspend the driver’s license of virtually any driver who is arrested for DUI, regardless of what happens in court. Even if you are not charged in court with DUI, you will still lose your license if you don’t act quickly. You will lose your right to challenge the suspension if you don’t act within 20 days of the incident. Suspensions / revocations can range from 90 days to 4 years for a DUI arrest, even if a jury finds you not guilty.
You are not alone. Every year in Washington tens of thousands of drivers are arrested for DUI. In 2017, almost 800 Driving Under the Influence cases were filed just in Kitsap County alone, and over 25,000 statewide.
A skilled, experienced attorney is familiar with dozens of challenges to every stage of DUI prosecution. Was the original traffic stop legally valid? Were constitutional safeguards regarding search and arrest observed by the police? Was the BAC test administered according to the procedures mandated by Washington law? Any failure by police to follow the letter of the law weakens the prosecution case, and provides the accused a legal defense and important negotiation leverage.
Who represents you in a DUI case is one of the most important decisions you will make. Your attorney should be someone you can trust, someone you can talk to—but someone who is willing and able to fight to protect you in court and in the DOL process to save your driver’s license. A poorly handled case can cost thousands of dollars in fines and fees. Years ago MSN Money magazine estimated the cost of a DUI conviction can exceed $15,000. A good lawyer can often save you more than their fees.
Conditions on your release are determined at your first court appearance. The judge can require you install an ignition interlock, be on electronic home monitoring, or have to post bail or go to jail. You should have an attorney with you from the first minute you appear in front of the judge. At Glisson & Morris, our attorneys are professional, aggressive, and committed to helping you. We will fight to protect your rights, and make sure you get the fair treatment that you deserve in the complex world of DUI defense. We set reasonable, affordable fees with the goal of getting you back on the road and moving on with your life as quickly and painlessly as possible.
Don’t go to court alone! Talk to an attorney before you appear in front of a judge.
We represent clients charged with DUI in Port Orchard, Bremerton, Silverdale, Kingston, Olalla, Poulsbo, Tacoma, and around Kitsap County and Pierce County Washington.